Museum für Franken at Fortress Marienberg (Festung Marienberg)
The Museum für Franken houses the world's most comprehensive collection of works by the Medieval sculptor and woodcarver Tilman Riemenschneider. The 5400 sqm museum space is also home to exhibits by regional artists. Of special interest are the pre-historic collection, the artifacts of the Franconian wine culture and the anthropological collection that features historical traditional clothing. Discover masterful paintings, exquisite furniture and magnificent arts and crafts from the early ages until the nineteenth century.
The restored “Fürstenbau” (prince bishops' residence) at Fortress Marienberg houses not only the renovated living quarters, but also the department of city history of the Museum für Franken. Of special interest are the collection of gold jewelry, the collection of liturgical vestments, and two models of the city: Würzburg in 1525 and Würzburg in 1945.
April through October: Tue – Sun 10 am – 5 pm,
November through March: Tue – Sun 10 am – 4 pm
Last admission 30 minutes before closing.
Department of City History at the Fürstenbau
March 16 to October 31: Tue - Sun 10 am - 5 pm
November to March 15: closed
Adults € 5 per person, children (0 - 17 years) free admission
Groups of more than 15 participants €4 per person
Entrance including guided tour of the fortress € 6,50
Museum für Franken and Museum für Franken im Fürstenbau
D - 97082 Würzburg
Phone +49 (0) 931 / 20 59 40
www.museum-franken.de (with event calendar and guided tours)